MCAT Mnemonics

MCAT Mnemonics: Freud Stages of Psychosexual Development

Ken Tao is the MedSchoolCoach expert on MCAT, and will discuss the five stages of Freud’s theory of psychosexual development, including oral, anal phallic, latent, and genital – and how the fact that old-aged people love grandchildren can help you remember them.

Full Transcription

Welcome back to another MCAT Mnemonic Monday. I’m Ken and I’m an MCAT expert with MedSchoolCoach. Today, we have a mnemonic for you for the MCAT psych-soc section, and it’s on the Freud Stages of Psychosexual Development.

So as you know, Freud came up with his theory of psychosexual development that includes five stages.

The first stage is the Oral stage from about ages 0 to 1. Then we have the Anal stage from ages 1 to 3. Then the Phallic stage from ages 3 to 6. Then the Latent stage from ages 6 to 12. And finally, we have the Genital stage for ages 12 and up.

The mnemonic for memorizing the order of these five stages is: Old Aged People Love Grandchildren.

So if you look at the first letters of the stages in our mnemonic, you can see how Old Aged People Love Grandchildren can help you memorize Freud’s stages of psychosexual development.

Ken Tao

Ken is nationally recognized as a premier MCAT mind. He has worked with thousands of undergraduate students as a graduate teaching assistant and MCAT instructor/tutor for the Princeton Review. At Princeton Review, Ken was the only tutor certified in all subjects, was one of the highest rated MCAT tutors ever and was a teacher trainer. Additionally, Ken worked to found Magoosh's MCAT division. He has written content for dozen's of MCAT books and guides. He is now the Director of MCAT at MedSchoolCoach

Related Articles

Back to top button